QUEENSLAND HISTORIC ROAD RACE CHAMPIONSHIPS.

PRESENTED BY:

QUEENSLAND EARLY MOTORCYCLE SPORTS CLUB (QEMSC).

Perfect weather shone and lap records were smashed at the Queensland Historic Road Race Championships over the weekend of May 17 & 18.

Craig Morris took the win in the Premier Classic 500cc class after a weekend long battle with local favorite Mike Farrell. Morris set a new lap record in the process of 1 min 24.2468 sec thus smashing the previous mark set by Peter Guest of 1 min 25.63 sec. Brian Fleming came in third

John Slim took a hard fought Championship win in the Post Classic Unlimited Class from Peter Turner and Karl Corpe. Slim also set a new lap record of 1 min 21.4824, down from the previous record of 1 min 22.82 set by Rex Wolfenden in 1999. Other class winners were as follows:

PRE 1946 SOLOS

1st - Paul Dunster, 2nd - Terry Kavney, 3rd - Phil Ariel.

PRE 1963 SOLOS UP TO 350cc

1st - Mike Farrell, 2nd - Russell beckett, - 3rd - John I mrie.

PRE 1963 UNLIMITED SOLOS

1st - Shane Abberton, 2nd - Bert Skuce, 3rd - John Munns.

POST CLASSIC UP TO 500cc

1st - James Barclay, 2nd - Graham Hurley, 3rd - Davey Keenan.

750TT SOLOS (pre 1972 push rod multi cylinder 526cc - 750cc)

1st - Shane Abberton, 2nd - Bert Skuce, 3rd - Steven Harney.

PRODUCTION '57 (pre 1958 push rod road based machines)

1st - Bruce Russell, 2nd - Graham Barker, 3rd - David Kavney.

REGULARITY PARADE (SLOW)

1st - Glynn Leitch, 2nd - John Milton, 3rd - Joachim Schlecht.

REGULARITY PARADE (FAST)

1st - Peter Cockroft, 2nd - Shaun Wyatt, 3rd - Lindsay Granger.

PRE 1963 SI DECARS

1st - Tommy Browne / Brendan Feanell, 2nd - I an Milton / Scott Hern, 3rd - Robert Glock / Anthony Smith.

POST CLASSIC SIDECARS

1st - Cory Glock / Cameron cowell, 2nd - Paul Bailey / Jim Andrew.

ERIC DEBENHAM TEAMS TROPHY

Winning Team - "The Power Puffs" comprising Craig Morris, Mike Farrell, Shane Abberton & Steve Harney.

Cheers,

Nick Tate, QEMSC Secretary.